Skip to content
November 16, 2007 / consciousness

the late renaissance

it seems the beast has awoken again. swallowing all freedom and time it can find. the beast called music. i gave up on music and had this firm plan to completeley quit playing and making music on a semi pro level. the date was set, the final gig planned, the fifteenth of december was meant to end it all with a big bang.

but it never turns out the way one plans it… suddenly my band is on heavy rotation at the local radio station, were hooked up with gigs, talking to record labels, producers suddenly show interest and there’s a video shoot comming up this weekend. five cameras, blue screen, the whole thing.

its a damn renaissance of music for me! my free time is gone. i dumped a girl for the band (again), for its either girls or music. they never mixed. well actually music or relationship. i spent the last week seeing my band every night. where should i fit a woman in this time schedule? btw massive exams comming up in december. better get down and spend the rest of the time that remains in the library.
many other musicians would envy me to have reached the stage that my band has. i couldnt care less. some get excited about the prospect of going on stage infront of a few hundred people, for me it has turned into a job. i must have played about 60+ gigs in my life, ranging from 10 to 60,000 viewers. i can hear my music if i turn on the radio. i go to just about any rock club in berlin and get in for free. other musicians suck up to me, asking if they can open for my band.
thats not what i really want. i fulfilled all dreams that i thought i would ever reach with music. i have dreamed up other dreams that tug at my soul. they dont have to do with music.
i’ll just have to wait to fulfill themwhen the time is ripe…

laterz

rmt

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. dinosaur fact / Nov 27 2007 11:54 am

    Guess who just brightened up my day? 🙂 Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

